AeroPergold

RPG Maker Nutcase
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
So I've been making RPG Maker games for over ten years now, and next February is going to be the tenth anniversary of my first completed project: "Brony Quest: When Nazis Attack". A crude game made with the base settings (no scripts) with even cruder language (most of the "comedy" of this game came from those phunny ph*** words and little else.)

A few days ago, I was in my office, taking a break from working on "Venture Quest" when I thought about either redoing/remaking Brony Quest in RPG Maker VX, the original engine it was made in. So I got home and played around with it, and quickly discovered that little of the RSSG scripts survived to this day with a good chunk of Yanfly's stuff lost to time immemorial. So I bumped up an engine (more like half in reality) and went to RPG Maker VX Ace.

Going back to RPG Maker VX Ace was like seeing an old friend for the first time in years. It was my first legally acquired RPG Maker software and I made loads of games with it until mid-2015 when MV first came out. But after a few days I discovered why I left that old friend, confined to the deepest recesses of my Steam library.

For one, I love the RTP graphics. It had not only NPCs but NPCs doing things like rummaging through a bag or carrying a box. It had a charm that I miss in MV and later MZ. The RTP literally had everything ready to go: 8 classes, a entire list of skills/items/actors/equipment, an entire game's worth of enemies and two final bosses even. It was nice to see these things still there after all these years.

Plus this is where the game got more advanced than VX so DAMAGE FORMULAS!!! I love how there's a quick formula so you could bang out a simple formula if you were a noob like I was nine years ago. I love that option being there.