Amarok

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Spanish
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hello there! i hope everyone is doing well and safe in these times.
Since the quarantine prevents me from working i went back to coding and rpgmaking, kept experimenting with js and
made my own roguelike system, everything works fine except one thing.

Performance is terrible, most probably because im always displaying +700 pictures all at once.
The way i made things, every single graphic you see on the screen is a picture just the tiles alone on the screen are 720 pictures.

So i know mv runs on pixi.js my question is, how could i display all these graphics with a reasonable performance?
Maybe drawing graphics directly with pixi? total coding noob here, dont kill me ;D

thanks in advance, and again i hope everyone is safe and sound.

Attachments

Eliaquim

Hakuen Studio
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Portuguese - Br
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
When you mean roguelike, you mean that your maps are random? Or do you have a map that is revealing as player walks?

Amarok

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Spanish
Primarily Uses
RMMV
@Eliaquim both things actually, the entire game world is generated at the start and is uncovered as you walk on it. Thats the main reason i started to code this, i wanted to have 100% control over each tile that makes up the world.

gstv87

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Spanish
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
how could i display all these graphics with a reasonable performance?
THE most accurate way would be the way it's already done: make a giant picture (which is the map itself), frame it with a viewport, and don't change it.
if you need to reveal tile by tile, you can probably still make a giant picture out of individual cutaways, but place a sprite on top of each one, and toggle that sprite on or off.