Need advice on drawing tablet

Discussion in 'Art, Literature, and Music' started by Gabrelik, Jul 21, 2016.

1. Gabrelik

Gabrelik Almighty Maker of Sandwiches Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Hi!

I'm trying to track down a good tablet to begin work on a custom tileset for MV. I would love to hear any recommendations from people who have some experience with this? I'm an established artist, but I'm a charcoal or Prismacolor guy; haven't worked digitally much. I've done some research, but would prefer to hear some real life experience.

Any ideas help. Thanks!

2. kovak

kovak Silverguard Veteran

First Language:
    PT - EN
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    This is not about the tablet, but i'd recommend you to check Diego de Almeida paintings, he studied Performing arts and he did lots of commisions for games.
    He paints everything in the same layer as if he is working on a canvas.

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 21, 2016
  3. JayTheDaniels

JayTheDaniels Full-Time Nerd Member

First Language:
    Canadian
    I would generally say pick up a Wacom tablet. They're industry standard and pretty high quality, but can run a bit expensive. For making tilesets you won't need anything too pricey. Definitely no need for a cintiq (the ones with the screen on the tablet) unless you have a grand to shell out on it :p  

I'm using an Intuos Draw right now which ran me about $130. It might not look like much, but it gets the job done and it's small enough for me to carry around. I previously had an Intuos Pro, but something inside of it broke and now it sits in my basement gathering dust. I'm pretty clumsy so I've also had to replace the pen for both tablets twice. If you're only working at home and you tend to take good care of your tech you might not need to replace the pen for years.