Need help making post-game work.

gitaroomanlives

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Getting really frustrated with this one, hoping somebody can help.

I'm fairly new to RPG Maker, so that's likely why this is such a struggle. Basically, I'm trying to make it so the final scene of my game plays out, credits roll, and then I want to offer the player a chance to save their complete file, then, I want a quick message like "There are new mysteries to discover, seek them out!" and then have the player brought back to the title screen. Then, when they load the game, I want the player to load back in their hometown.

As of right now, every time I try to make this work, I end up stuck in an endless loop where I load the file, and then I just see the quick "new mysteries" message, and then I'm brought back to the title screen.

I've looked this up a few times and the explanations involved scripts and variables, which I really don't understand how to use. Would somebody be able to give me an in-depth explanation, step by step, on how to resolve this? Directing me to previous thread posts won't help. I've read them all and I don't understand them/they don't resolve this specific issue.

To be clear, I'm not interested in making a whole new New Game Plus option on the menu, I'm aware that this exists as well. I'm looking for a solution that specifically resolves what I'm describing.

Thanks!

Soulrender

Jack Of All Trades
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Poland
Primarily Uses
RMMV
It appears you didn't explained all so I'm assuming two possibilities:

#1 - If this is a RPG game with open world with high influence of exploration then after the final credits pass you should control switch like this: https://prnt.sc/ummfc0 and check it before game intro rolls (or after - depends on you) like that: https://prnt.sc/ummgdn