Need help with cutscene issue on rpg mv on ps4.

Meisu341

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Before I explain the issue i'm pretty new to rpg maker and figured I'd make a account on here to see if I could get some help.

So i'm currently on my first cutscene after my intro and I ran into a problem of not having enough self switches to finish my cutscene. I have basic knowledge and look up tutorials when i'm stuck but I haven't really found a solution.

Some people I asked on reddit told me that if a cutscene is more complex (if you start running out of self switches) you can use variables but they didn't explain anything after. But all the tutorials i've ran across doesn't explain how to use variables for cutscenes.

Shaz

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I will approve this because your question is not specifically related to the PS4 version. Note though, this forum is for support of the desktop versions, not the console versions, so if you need help with something that is specifically about the PS4, we will not be able to assist.

You can use a variable to "step through" the stages of a cutscene - instead of using heaps of self switches on heaps of events, use a single variable. Each time something happens and you want an event to change, instead of turning on a self switch, add 5 to the variable. The the events that need to change at that point should have a new page with the variable >= whatever the new value is as a condition. Adding 5 rather than 1 means if you realised you missed a step, it's easy to add it and you don't have to go and change around a heap of events.

Meisu341

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV