New and intimidated

Discussion in 'Introductions/Farewells' started by JFB1222, Oct 19, 2019.

1. JFB1222

JFB1222 Wind Runner Member

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMVXA
    Hi, hello. My name is JFB1222 (or something like that) and I am brand new to RPG maker. Yeah, that's right, I have never used any of the RPG makers over the years; like at all. Also, I have absolutely no experience with any form of coding or designing a video game. So far, I have been watching youtube and fallowing tutorials step by step to use it, even though I screw up left and right I am starting to get the hang of how somethings in this program work. Right now I am using VX Ace opposed to MV because of the cost and to see if RPG Maker is really for me. I am a bit worried about trying to create my own game and just losing my head with all the options.

2. Tiamat-86

Tiamat-86 old jrpg gamer Veteran

First Language:
    english
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    almost feel like shoulda tryd introduction before buying cus woulda recommended RPGM Fes on DS for full on beginners.

just dont try doing a massive project for 1st attempt or you'll feel completely overwhelmed.
    make a few small things (1-3hours long) to build up understanding of eventing, balancing and the database.
    then start trying a few things with scripts/plugins that are not doable with just the vanilla game.

3. sura_tc

sura_tc Loner Veteran

First Language:
    Korean
    Primarily Uses:
    Other
    Well, my first game was the largest one I've made ironically. (50 ~ 60 hours of game play with 92 quests)

Don't wanna do it again and haven't done the same, heh. I just didn't know better back then and kept pushing on.

4. Andar

Andar Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    German
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    there is no need for coding knowledge for a beginner - there is a lot more you could do with coding knowledge, but it is NOT required to make a good game.