New here. I have some questions.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Hello! I signed up a few days ago! Don't worry, I already read the rules. I'm very new to RPG Maker

I have a few questions.

1. I must have done something wrong with one of my events, because I have one of them be at the entrance to a forest that's supposed to be dark and creepy and the very first thing I added was a Tint Screen effect (the Night tint in case you're curious)... and for some reason, while I like that particular map stays tinted... for some reason, this transfers over my other maps. Any way to fix that?

2. How to make a lantern effect for dark places? Like a little ball of light surrounding my characters? I forgot how, and I wanna make an item like that and maybe make one of my created spells do it as well as an alternative.

3. What's the difference between parallax mapping and overlay? And why is parallax mapping so good for a game anyway? I don't get it.

4. I wanna make a spell that transforms the enemy into something harmless like a cat. I'm not sure if the enemy should run away or die. How would I go about doing this?

5. I'm assuming that most of the VX Ace tutorials on here can be applied to MV? Because I can't find many tutorials on how to do stuff for MV, but over a million for VX Ace.

6. I might be in the wrong place to ask this, but... I bought some of the graphical stuff for MV since I found the basic tilesets... a bit lacking. I mean, they're nice looking, but I want more variety, you know? The problem is... the tilesets I bought (Royal Tiles, Fantastic Buildings Medieval, Volcanoes and Dungeons and Ancient Dungeons Base Pack) are for VX Ace. I don't think I'm doing things right because the tilesets don't look right when I add them to my map. I thought I resized them properly, but I guess not? I just wanna make my castle and town look nicer, dangit! That, and I want nicer trees.