New: Need Help With Relationship System

Discussion in 'RPG Maker MV' started by DapperHound, Feb 27, 2018.

1. DapperHound

DapperHound Warper Member

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    I'm completely new to RPG Maker (I use MV btw), and this is my first post on these forums. So excuse me if I am in the wrong area for what I need to ask.

I have been creating small test games over the past few days to make sure certain aspects that I want in my actual project will work properly. Right now I am working on making a relationship system for the game (basically just controlling variables and such), but I'm starting to run into a few issues. I've looked up some tutorials, but sadly all these tutorials brush by things that they assume I would already know, and I don't even know enough about them to search for the answers myself. I mean, how do you find the answer to a question if you don't know what question to ask?

I've figured out how to control variables and how to make branches that react to variables, but here's my issue. In a script I might start off with a simple introductory line with some choices kinda getting the player introduced to this character they've never spoken to before. However, there are some issues. I don't want the player to see this text ever again. I've tried controlling the different bits of dialogue with switches being turned on and off, but obviously, every time you speak with a character, the script will run in order and turn these switches on and off again....... So how do I make it so that they can get the introductory dialogue once, then all dialogue there after to be reliant on the choices they have already made?