New plugin/fix update automatically?

Discussion in 'RPG Maker MV' started by LinBE, Oct 24, 2015.

1. LinBE

LinBE Villager Member

First Language:
    English
    Hello guys,

I am totally new to RM. Maybe stupid, I have questions regarding to how the MV plugins were distributed. 

• Now I have installed my first RM. But I am kinda scared since I already see there are lots of bug flying around. Althoug some of them are solved immediately, the solutions are not centralized. Is it possible to provide a place, which we can track the update of the plugins?
    • And I am using the steam version, does the plugin will be updated automatically as the steam games are doing?
    Thanks!

Best,

LinBE

2. Andar

Andar Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    German
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Only the editor can be updated automatically, anything in your project has to be added manually, and that includes updates.

It was decided to handle it this way long ago, because the disadvantages of automatically updating might cause your project to break - for example if you modified the default engine javascript, and one of those files get updated automatically, loosing your edits?

Better you have control of when what gets updatedin your projects, even if that is more work for you...

3. LinBE

LinBE Villager Member

First Language:
    English
    I see your point, however I am not convinced. Since all the resource in MV are actually located in every project folder. Updating the main program(including the official plugin/DLC it comes with), won't have any impact on the existing project (correct me if I am wrong).  

We have lots of plugins from different contributors, I think it is a big effort to just check every plugin is up to date. If we update the plugins via steam, which is centralized, at least, every user when we start a new project, we know that we have the latest plugins. 

4. Shaz

Shaz Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV