New to Ace, and I have noob questions.

Discussion in 'RPG Maker VX Ace' started by Blair Pendragon, Jul 16, 2012.

1. Blair Pendragon

Blair Pendragon Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Heya everyone, as the title suggests, I'm new to RPG Maker VX Ace.

I started recreating my RPG Maker XP game onto VX Ace, and of course, I ran into a load of problems.

(also I'd like to avoid scripts if possible, except for the last question)

Let's start with the most annoying one...

(1)Tilesets... Primarily answered.

(2) Classes... Answered

(3) Set Movement Route... With Frequency at max, and speed at max, I'm seeing small delays between steps, when I would like to keep the movement fluid.

(This is because of an event that checks to see if it is ok to keep moving, rather than a preset number of spaces, set to "set movement route". A better explanation is at the bottom.)

(4) TP... Answered

(5) Side View Battle. Answered

Thanks in advance if you have any means to help.

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 21, 2012
  2. Levi

Levi Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    I don't understand the question. You want someone to explain the Ace's mapping system?

All the features/traits available in the "Class" table can be utilized at the "Actor" table as well. So you can have Class attributes, and Actor attributes... independent of each other. So... a guy could be a warrior. He's "allowed" to use axes. But on the "Actor" table you can add "Equip Sword" so that He can use swords as well as axes... even though the Warrior Class only allows Axes.

Set the "Frequency" to High or Highest for the Player before and during the fall, and set it back to normal afterwards. Also, you can do Var = Terrain Tag. Under the 3rd tab, in the Control Variables Menu there is "Get Location Info". From there you can set a variable to receive Terrain Tag info.

I don't quite understand this question. Can you elaborate? Maybe get us some screenshots?

Not that I'm aware of.