Bludiamonds

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
Hi all, brand new to RPG Maker MZ (my significant other has used previous version 6 years ago, probably MV) and I'm looking to help him return to his gaming project. He is looking to do extensive customization on his maps and I've helped him gather some amazing tilesets and objects (shout out to all creators of content I've come across, such beautiful work :smile: ). Again I am brand new to this and I've been researching on how to go about this and understand tilesets and use different pieces I've gathered in my search.

In my understanding, you are only given 4 spots, B-E to place your tilesets for your items. I attempted add multiple items to one png image using Paint.net using the dimensions of 768 px wide, 16X16 grid, 72 ppi using a much longer length (from my readings you can have an indefinite length to your png images). However when I added the images to RPG maker database I experienced items getting cut off from the side or bottom. An example of this is using a windmill and other content created by PandaMaru. I created a test image in Paint.net with PandaMaru's windmill, hay pile and cottage with the properties of 768 px wide, 1500 px long, 72 ppi. The grid guide I used in Paint.net is 32 as 16 in the program did not appear correct. I placed the image itself in the B slot in my database for my map properties. I've heard about Tiled and VisuStella's mz plugin for same and I've installed them but from my understanding you would need to create your maps in Tiled and import them into RPG Maker?

I apologize for all these "noob" questions but I'd like to figure this out as soon as possible to get started on the project. Thank you so much for all your help!!

gridex1.JPG
properties.JPG
gridprop.JPG
database.JPG

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
OK, the basics.
1)