EcchiSamurai

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
Hey everyone! I'm new to both here and making RPGs. I've watched a few online tutorials on youtube (currently watching tutorials by SRDude, and they're pretty helpful for the most part). However, I'm running into some issues with the current game I'm trying to make. I'm currently going for a horror-based game, where theres a main villian you need watch out for. Well... theres some issues I'm running into and can't seem to find any tutorials about...

1. I'm adding in characters as I go. I know the story I want, and I know the direction I need to take my game, but I'd end up getting lost in just creating new characters that I'm never going to use, so I make them as I progress. That, itself, isn't the issue. The issue is setting up an NPC battle that stops mid fight (after the enemies HP hits a specific point), and having them run away and into another room.

How would I go about doing this? I don't know if the set directional options would really work and just make him run into a wall... I also don't know how to get that NPC to transfer into another room.

2. Where can I find good horror based resources? I have a few already in my RPG Maker VX Ace, but I'm looking for a few more tile textures, to be more specific, old and worn out doors. Think... Corpse Party in terms of deseign?

3. Hidden doors, sliding book cases, and hiding spots... how would I go about doing these as well?

Just a few issues, nothing that maybe a little googling could help with, but the one thing I can't find is the issue with the NPC. I'm not trying to make a fantasy fighter game. So, I don't necessarily need so many combat skills and sets and end up setting most of it all to either 1 or 0 since the main characters going to be running and hiding.

Shiro-chan

Friendly Neighbourhood Neppy Maid
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMVXA