New User: Cyberpunk Game Possible?

Discussion in 'RPG Maker MV' started by Ookami007, Feb 26, 2016.

1. Ookami007

Ookami007 Villager Member

First Language:
    English
    I'm fairly new to RPG Maker and I finally bit the bullet and bought it and starting to go through tutorials but I'm starting to question weather or not it will fit my need.

I want to create a cyberpunk style game set in not TOO distant dystopian future.  So no magic, more guns and gernades, etc.  More hacking, cyberspace combat, etc.

But it looks like the battle systems really aren't setup to do that sort of thing.  It looks like they are more geared towards magic.

Has anyone tried creating a modern or sci-fi style game using RPG maker?  If so, how did you get around the natural RPGMaker predisposition to magic based combat?

Thank you.

2. B34RxJ3W

B34RxJ3W Developer Member

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    N/A
    Hacking could probably be done with eventing, or perhaps a plugin.

Like a random number generator that has improved chances of = succesful_hack depending on certain variables & skill.

Cyberspace combat?

You'd probably have to have separate characters & skills/equips.

Plus a parallax background?

All depends on how far you want to push the cosmetics probably.  How in-depth, etc.

I'd definitely say it's possible.

But the stock resources tend to lean towards medieval or rural games.

So you'll probably have to find some scifi sprites, sounds, & animations.

3. Roth

Roth Rogue Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Like what B34RxJ3W said *ww* it's possible but you will need alot resources that's more towards scifi and eventing is a really good tool to achieve almost anything if you dunno Javascript :)  

4. Ookami007

First Language:
    English

Thanks for the reply.  What about combat with firearms.  As I mentioned, it seems geared towards magic rather than modern weapons. 

Thanks!

5. Dalamar

Dalamar Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English