New Website Looking for Games to Review

Discussion in 'Maker Casual' started by Randor, Jun 12, 2019.

1. Randor

Randor Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Hi, game devs! I recently started a new website called RPG Maker Game Reviews. I've posted a few reviews and am looking for more games to play. Please see the site to submit your game for review. Once I've posted my review, I'll share it in this thread.

Who am I?
    My real name is Steve Wilson. I'm 38 and have always enjoyed retro-style games.

I created and published my first RPG Maker game in 2018, then voluntarily worked on one for another publisher that needed some help. Both have been released on Steam, and my game is available on Google Play as well.

I've always enjoyed fantasy, sci-fi, and superhero stories. If it doesn't have magic, aliens, zombies, or superheroes, I'm probably not interested.

I'm a writer and editor by trade, so I tend to focus on storytelling and clear writing in the games that I create and play. Pure fighting games aren't something I'm interested in, though I do enjoy the strategy of good turn-based combat. I've also seen some great RPG Maker games that use on-map combat mechanics or skipped combat altogether.

For me, writing and gameplay always win out over graphics or fancy coding. But, yes, I do a little coding and can appreciate it when someone has used their technical skills to enhance their game.

How Do I Write My Reviews?

I’m generally a fairly kind reviewer. I want to highlight what’s good in your game. I don’t judge you for being low-budget or using the base resources that come with the software. But I will be honest with readers when I find something that doesn’t work well.

Here are the 10 criteria I’ll comment and score your game on:
    • Story
    • Characters
    • Writing
    • Mapping
    • Art
    • Creative Game Design
    • Gameplay
    • Technical
    • Music
    • Sound