Newbie here with common event timing

Keraldo11

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
Englsih
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
Basically, I'm trying to figure out how I can tie a common event, (which shows an image, plays some sounds, etc), to a skill, and have it play when the skill starts, not after the damage is calculated.

estriole

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
indonesian
you need plugin for that i think... something like common event before skill... and the skill will launch after the common event finished...
since even reserving common event (using damage formula) when using the skill will execute the common event and deal damage at the same time...

Keraldo11

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
Englsih
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
you need plugin for that i think... something like common event before skill...
Thanks for the response!
I already spent a while poking around the plugin board for mz, and I couldn't find anything, but i just may not know what I'm looking for. If possible, could you point me in the right direction?

estriole

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
indonesian
Thanks for the response!
I already spent a while poking around the plugin board for mz, and I couldn't find anything, but i just may not know what I'm looking for. If possible, could you point me in the right direction?
back in MV we can use Yanfly Battle Engine plugin which allow us to call common event before continuing to damage the enemy (using skill sequence)... I think Victor Animated battle in MV could also do that... (i forgot)...

in MZ maybe try VisuStella Battle Core? (the VisuStella Battle Core is free) they changed the skill sequence to use common event based instead... and using that common event i think you can slip show picture command... play sound effect... set a wait... do your skill sequence... then finally erase the picture at the end of common event... never try this before btw... sorry if i'm wrong...