eat beans

A being of pure evil
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
what is the easiest way to make maps and insert them into the game that aren’t made out of tiles. I want to make the whole entire map in my pixel art software, and then insert it into the game. Is there any way to do that?

BlackRoseMii

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
I'm not an expert, but as long as you follow a certain grid (which should be 32x32), it should be possible to make any kind of map. I don't know how you'd animate stuff like water though.
You can correct me if I'm wrong ^^°
EDIT: The grid size is for Ace though. I don't know about MV ^^°

eat beans

A being of pure evil
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I'm not an expert, but as long as you follow a certain grid (which should be 32x32), it should be possible to make any kind of map. I don't know how you'd animate stuff like water though.
You can correct me if I'm wrong ^^°
EDIT: The grid size is for Ace though. I don't know about MV ^^°
The thing is, if I do that and insert it as a tile set, it doesn’t always fit into the tile selection area, and it messes up my map by making it smaller

XIIIthHarbinger

Part Time Super Villain
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
What you are wanting to do is called parallax mapping.

Various tutorials on the subject can be found on youtube.

The main things are this,

1) Since you are using MV, the dimensions of the image, needs to correspond with a 48 X 48 pixel grid maps. So for example 10 square by 10 square Map, should be 480 pixels by 480 pixels.

2) Since you want the whole map to be a single image, you'll to need to calculate how large you want the maps to be, & adjust the image size accordingly. Then insert the image into your parallax folder.