Crusader Masochist
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Introduction
I'm sharing my notes so that you too can benefit from them (as if they're any good anyway :kaodes: ) and also any discussion.

I'm not a trained writer, I'm a programmer, but I do think that a story is very important for a game. So, I've been trying to learn how to integrate gameplay with the story. Currently I'm working on a Mystery Dungeon style game in RMMV, so I thought I'd actually have a look at one. I've only played Chapter 1 of this game, and these notes only cover Chapter 1.

Please feel free to comment if you think I have gotten something wrong, or if I have missed something, or to discuss something related.

I have emboldened words that I think make clear, at a glance, the order in which devices are used.

Chapter One
The opening begins with a mysterious circumstance that the player finds themselves in. The player is going to become a pokemon. The player is asked to engage in a questionnaire to determine their aura and therefore the pokemon that they are going to play as. They also choose from a limited list of pokemon to be their partner. This customization frames the experience to follow as being personal; linked to the player's identity. Asking the player who they believe they are is inherently captivating to most people. Think about the apparent popularity of Buzzfeed questionnaires; "which Disney princess are you?"

About 15 minutes is spent mostly passively on the initial setup of the game world and some (characterization) of the ‘partner’ character and what drives them, as well as (foreshadowing) their relationship to the (mysterious) shrine they feel anxiety towards, why are they anxious(?) What is this object that they treat like their “precious”?

A (conflict) is presented quickly, the “precious” is stolen by two unlikables, to lead us into the tutorial dungeon and create a (Macguffin) to motivate the characters for the duration of the dungeon.