NPC characters who join you as party members if certain requirements are met

BestKouhaiLumie

The Prodigal Noob
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hi! I'm pretty new to the RPG Maker scene, and working on a game in the MZ version rn. A pretty cool idea one of my friends brought up and which really appealed to me was what if certain NPCs in my game could transition into becoming actual party members? Provided the party fulfills certain conditions, like progressing to a certain point in the story, choosing a specific path during major events, getting them a unique item tied in to the NPC's character background etc? Is that plausible? My game universe as well as the main story is really, really big, so I can implement a lot of mechanics into it and make it more enjoyable for the enemy. What do you guys think? :3

MushroomCake28

KAMO Studio
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
Well it is certainly a cool feature and can be very fun and interesting, it is really hard to implement. I don't mean hard as it's technically difficult, although it's not easy peasy either, I mean hard in a sense that it requires a lot of work and is really time consuming.

BestKouhaiLumie

The Prodigal Noob
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Definitely, it's perhaps the lengthiest part in my project but I'm not scared too much...

Regarding an NPC's unique questline, would it be better to put a linear one that just tells the party to do X, get Y and so on, or would a more complex system with multiple choices be better appreciated? Like where during one playthrough, you progress bit by bit and can lose out on potential NPC allies if you made choices non-aligned with their goals? It would contribute to the game's replayability value right?

MushroomCake28

KAMO Studio
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ