fantaseafox

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hello! I am just starting out with RPG Maker MV.
I am trying to do the simplest of events, making a stationary NPC that has dialogue when interacted with.
But the NPC event graphic will not show up on the map.

I was under the impression that if there were no conditions the event should always be present?

Attachments

• Screenshot (1).png
    Screenshot (1).png
    435.5 KB · Views: 13
  • Screenshot (2).png
    Screenshot (2).png
    612.6 KB · Views: 13

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
is that screenshot from you starting a new game or from you loading a saved game?
a savegame contains the current map, and any changes to that map made after the savefile will only load if the player leaves the map and reenters, or if a new game is started.

second possibility is that you made the mistake and deployed into the same folder as your project is - that will redirect all future playtests to the old deployed version instead of the current data until you repair your project.

fantaseafox

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
is that screenshot from you starting a new game or from you loading a saved game?
a savegame contains the current map, and any changes to that map made after the savefile will only load if the player leaves the map and reenters, or if a new game is started.

second possibility is that you made the mistake and deployed into the same folder as your project is - that will redirect all future playtests to the old deployed version instead of the current data until you repair your project.
It's from the play test option during game creation.
I made a new project and the play tests are updating with the game now.
From what it sounds like, the second scenario was exactly my problem.

Thank you so much!

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV