NPCs movement

Iabtr

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I know this is not the right place to ask it but I couldn't find any other thread where sprite movement is involved.I am new to RPG maker and its my first project.......I am making a military training base and I want to place two soldiers facing each other and moving one step back and forward but together.No matter what I do at some points the sprites just delay movement creating a gap in between.I have already seen this in many RPG games I have played........so I know it's possible but just can't figure out how to do it.

slimmmeiske2

Little Red Riding Hood
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
Dutch
Primarily Uses
RMXP

I've moved your post to its own thread.

Shaz

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
can you please show screenshots of your events so we can see what you're doing to move each one?

If you use alt+printscreen, it will capture everything we need to see, without extra crud that's just going to make the image smaller and harder to read.

gstv87

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Spanish
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
if both events are set to the same update rate and speed, and if both events have the same move route, and *even* if there's a coordinator event sending commands to those events, the transmission is linear, meaning one event will always be updated one frame before the next.

that, assuming both events in question have contiguous IDs.
if not, several other events could be being updated in between, while one is moving and the other is not.

if both events are right in front of one another, that delay will cause one event to bump into the other, and stop.

Shaz

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
No, photos taken with phones are bad at the best of times, and those are awful quality. We can't see some of the most important stuff on there.