Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hey everyone,

I'm totally new to game design and have never sold a game before, so please pardon my ignorance. I'll eventually want to sell the game I'm creating in RMMV, and I was just wondering if there was anything stopping a buyer from just taking the download/folder and distributing it to anyone else who wants it. I know that piracy is a particularly difficult thing to crack down on, so I wanted to know if it was at least possible for each buyer to receive a unique game key that can only be used on 1-2 devices, so that a buyer giving away the game for free/money would have a problem that temporarily limits them (since it could only be downloaded once or twice). Thoughts? Thanks!

HalcyonDaze

Smoke and Mirrors
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
I'm curious about this as well. While there is no simple method that I'm aware of, you can at least encrypt the audio and graphics files when you deploy your project. However, I'm sure there is a way to implement some kind of anti-piracy measures. I mean, PC games were doing it in the 1980's.

Attachments

• Screenshot 2020-12-24 133554.jpg
    Screenshot 2020-12-24 133554.jpg
    23.8 KB · Views: 10

DarkPlasmaBall

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
That's a good point about the encryption of some of the files, although if someone were to just upload the whole game folder onto Google Drive or Dropbox and share it with people, the encryption wouldn't stop the new players from downloading the game and having complete access to playing the game (even if they can't modify some of the encrypted files).

Dezue

pat reon.com/peninja
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Heyho, DarkPlasmaBall!

If you've never released a game before, my honest advice would be to forget the whole piracy thing for now and focus on building an audience for your game instead.