"Pixelated" Pictures/Portraits

Koshin68

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Hey! This is my first time posting so if this is the wrong place to ask this please be patient with me!

I've put about 70 hours in tinkering with VX Ace and decided it's time to make a serious game with my own art. The only problem is, when I upload my portraits as pictures they become pixelated - and they are not that pixelated when I look at them in GIMP. I'm not sure whats happening, but how do I fix that? I'm a bit of a perfectionist so it's driving me nuts.

I've attached a picture of my character portrait in-game and in GIMP to show what I mean. It's very noticeable in his hands, throat, and the hair under his eye in the picture to the left (in-game). 

To get my character like this I've drawn him by hand, inked him, scanned him, touched him up in gimp and softened the edges with a smudge tool. 

Thanks for reading!

*** SOLVED

I meant to post, but I'm not sure it went through! 

Thank you for the suggestions. I figured out that the problem was I used the "zoom" function in the "Show picture" window and in doing so pixelated it from the zooming. All fixed!

Thanks again

help.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:

Shaz

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
How are you showing the portrait in-game - are you using Show Picture, or do you have a script? If a script, please provide a link. It may be trying to resize/zoom it, and that doesn't work very well in Ace. If that's what's happening, you're better of working out the correct size (in-game), then using Gimp to resize it to those dimensions. Even if you have two versions - a large one for editing, which you can then reduce each time you want to port it into the game.

Koshin68

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Ah, thank you for your quick response. 

I thought about what you said and I figured out the problem.