zaraku

Time Keeper
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hi, I have little JS knowledge but virtually none when it comes to sprites. I've been using Filter Controller for glow filters but I ran into general compatibility issues with the plugin, so I want to make my own. For now, I'll start with the player character, and extend it to followers/events on my own once I know I'm headed towards the right direction.

The goal is to make the player sprite glow (for a set duration, but I'll implement that later):
1) I know how to set up the filter itself, but what sprite class should I put the filter functions in? Would it be Spriteset_Map? Sprite_Character?
2) How do I target the player sprite specifically? I'm used to doing code snippets (something like $gameActors.actor(1).___.setGlowFilter()?) but I can't figure this one out.

Thanks in advance.

Eliaquim

Raze: The Rakuen Zero's Guardian!
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Portuguese - Br
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I'm pretty sure that you have to do it in sprite character.
But if you mean to use it in battle, I don't know for sure, but maybe in Sprite_Battler.

Silva

Scoobityboo
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
1) I'd say Sprite_Character, as that is what represents the player.

2) There's no way to reverse access an actors sprite from their game object as far as I'm aware. What you could do is while you're adding the filter to the Sprite_Character class add a function for reading something from the _character (_character is a property on Sprite_Character that refers to the object it's representing) that will allow you to toggle this. I've only used PIXI filters once and don't remember how they work so you'll need to fill that part in, but as an example:

JavaScript:
Game_Player.prototype.setGlow = function(glow) {  //glow is a boolean (true/false)
    this._glow = glow;
};

var _zaraku_Sprite_Character_update = Sprite_Character.prototype.update;