sokka

Captain Boomerang
Reaction score
First Language
Polish
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hi,
I was thinking of types (elements) in my game and I wonder how should I classify some of them.

I'm not an expert in physics or chemistry so I thought of asking somebody here if any element in my game can affect another one.
Just like water creature is stronger against fire creature.

Beside fire, water and electric, my creatures are going to be magnetic and plasma.
And I have a tiny problem with the last two.
How do you think they should interact with each other and with the first three elements?

Does anybody have some interesting idea?

ScorchedGround

Blizzards most disappointed fan
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Are the elements you listed all the elements present or are there any more? Just to get a better picture.

And secondly you should consider whether or not you want the elements to interact with each other in a logical way or in a gameplay-focused way.

In pokemon for example all the elements are heavily balanced around each other. And not all interactions necessarily make sense from a logic standpoint but offer a lot of gameplay variety.

And lastly I don't think games need to be anchored in reality all the time.
You can get away with a lot of stuff if it is explained in a coherent way in the game.

Cormorant42

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
So basically "magnetic" and "electric" are pretty much the same thing, and "fire" and "plasma" are EXACTLY the same thing, so that could probably get confusing to your players.