Ozmahunter

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hi!

I have been working on an RPG in my spare time for over 2 years. It's taken over 400 hours to get this far and still the game is an extremely early phase. It uses almost exclusively default assets and I've done nothing yet to spruce up the art, sound or menus. It is at this stage that I want some fresh eyes to just tell me if this game is even interesting at all or if the entire concept sucks.

Goal: Create a game with a simple, satisfying game loop of:
a) Create party from 8 class pool (22 total after unlocking)
b) Grind in multiple accessible areas (you decide what element type monsters and what difficulty you want to take on), gain EXP, money and loot
c) Improve party by spending money in town, upgrading to stronger classes
d) When feeling frisky, attempt to fight one of the bosses in the titular Tower of Ten (10 bosses total)
e) Repeat until you beat the tower

Difficulty - The bosses are HARD. Some will require strategies including teams with strong healing, teams with strong multi-target attacks, teams with focus on phys attack or magical attack, experimenting with status effects, etc. They are hard but they are also puzzles like many of the bosses in FF4.

Plot - Plot is virtually nonexistent. This may be a "con" for you, but I personally often enjoy grinding in RPGs just as as busy work while I watch TV or as an idle game of sorts. I personally care less and less about expansive plots and character development. I understand fully that may not be the norm but I do feel like there is a market for people that want just jump into grinding, team comp tinkering and hard bosses. I imagine people that enjoyed Etrian Odyssey or replaying games like FF1 or DQ3 would be the ideal target audience for this game.

That being said, for those willing to poke around in all the nooks and crannies, I have included a secret sub plot that will hopefully be a good twist for anyone hungry for plot.