Playtime or Timer Variable as Gold?

Kikanai

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
So my idea is to let the hero own a shop. Every once in a while he can check in and get an amount of gold depending on how long it has been since he last checked. What would I need to do in order to make this work out? Also I want to start the "timer" for this when he first visits it, not when the game is started for the first time. I guess for that I need a switch, and that would be no problem for me. Still, this might be important to know for giving me some help.
I was looking through variables and found the "Playtime" operand. Is this measured as seconds?

----

I am still pretty new to variables and try to process what exactly you can and can't do with them.
I've been doing tutorials and practicing variable stuff over the last few days, but sadly I can't really find anything similar to this. Either that, or I don't have enough imagination to copy it onto this case.

MushroomCake28

KAMO Studio
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
The "time unit" used to calculate time in RPG Maker (XP, VX, VX Ace, MV) is the number of frames. I put time in "" because it's not really a measure of time, but a measure of how many frames the game engine has output. Since the game engine is designed to run constantly at 60 fps (even if you can run it higher, or slower), you could say that 60 frames = 1 second.

As for your mechanic, wouldn't it be better to start the timer when the player first builds the shop? At that moment, set a variable to the amount of total frames (the playtime), and when the player comes to collect the money calculate the difference between the current time and the time when the player built the shop.

So if the player builds the shop at 10 mins of gameplay, you'll store 600 in a variable.
If the player comes back to collect money at 15 mins of gameplay, you'll store 900 in another variable.