Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
N/A
Hi everyone,

I've been fiddling with JS/RPG MV for years, but I'm by no means a professional coder so please pardon if my terms below are off.

One thing I noticed that confused me is that some plugin makers pre-load monster/item, etc... notetags into a new property of the associated monster/item object (I see this a lot in Yanfly plugins). However, can't the same information be used by just referring to the meta of what you're working with? For instance, in the EnemyBook plugin by Yoji Ojima (which came with MV), when they need a notetag they just refer to the meta of an object without moving it to another property.

Is there an advantage of pre-loading the notetags like Yanfly does vs what Yoji Ojima did? Or is it simply coder preference / cleaner in larger projects?

Thanks for any tips about this. I appreciate it!

DoubleX

Just a nameless weakling
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Chinese
Primarily Uses
N/A
Hi everyone,

I've been fiddling with JS/RPG MV for years, but I'm by no means a professional coder so please pardon if my terms below are off.

One thing I noticed that confused me is that some plugin makers pre-load monster/item, etc... notetags into a new property of the associated monster/item object (I see this a lot in Yanfly plugins). However, can't the same information be used by just referring to the meta of what you're working with? For instance, in the EnemyBook plugin by Yoji Ojima (which came with MV), when they need a notetag they just refer to the meta of an object without moving it to another property.

Is there an advantage of pre-loading the notetags like Yanfly does vs what Yoji Ojima did? Or is it simply coder preference / cleaner in larger projects?

Thanks for any tips about this. I appreciate it!
Right now the only 2 advantages I can think of are: