RMMV Project Advice Kid's Game

Discussion in 'Game Ideas and Prototypes' started by rages4calm, Sep 30, 2019.

1. rages4calm

rages4calm Villager Member

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Need some advice. First let me say that I'm not that experienced with rpg maker mv (since the last time I used rpg maker was rpg maker xp) I decided since I've owned it for awhile to go ahead and use it since the game I'm doing is a gift for a kid whose birthday is coming up very soon. I'm pretty sure I got most the maps done the way I want them since I tried basing it off the tiny little town we live in. My problem is I lack ideas for the actual game play portion. So far I have it setup to where early in the game he meets his friends and they join his party (again all based off town we live in and his rl friends). I thought about centering the game around the school which I added to the game and the town itself. He is still in a learning to read process so I have to be careful with the adding too much text or making it too confusing. The game won't be a long game it's just something small for him and his friends to play on their tablets / computers.

Sorry for the wall of text but anyone who can give advice or ideas on how to make some fun easy game play for them would be much appreciated. I may not be skilled with rpg maker mv at all but I'm a fast learner.

2. bgillisp

bgillisp Global Moderators Global Mod

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMVXA
    I'll put this under Game Ideas and Prototypes as it would be better discussed there.

As to the question, maybe you can do it all with music and speech bubbles with some text? Maybe you can use the text as an option to read to him as he learns too. My parents did that to me with Zork (ok I'm old).

3. rages4calm

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV