Quest of a Life - Development [Beta Testing Phase]

Discussion in '2014 Indie Game Maker Contest' started by Vallar, Jun 20, 2014.

1. Vallar

Vallar Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    Not English
    Hello, 

Thank you very much for checking this thread and the game; I do appreciate it very much.

This my first time participating in a competition and definitely my first time doing something like a log... so here it goes.

Let's first start with a link of the demo itself:

http://contest.rpgmakerweb.com/game/view/id/134#.U6kdDfmSz-k

Final version... uploading, please wait...

And some screenshots in the spoiler below:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    Sorry for the bad logo; I am no graphic designer XD​

Story:

A toy sprang to life one day in a broken world. It doesn't know why or how it came to life with little population of similar toys around. What happened and what is going on? Why are the toys alive? What is their purpose?

Features:

- Any door you can see, you can enter through

- Multiple solutions to the same task given to you by characters in the game.

- Multiple endings for most tasks.

- Open ended game (final product not this chapter); where you choose your ending.

- Your actions affect the world and therefore you might have to act according to the consequences of your actions.

- Simple stealth system.

- Non-combat game.

- Story based game.

(Note: not the final submission; this is the demo and might be a bit buggy).

Credits list:

The Infamous Bon Bon -- Direction Based Line of Sight tutorial and script (http://forums.rpgmakerweb.com/index.php?/topic/3452-direction-based-line-of-sight-events/)

Molegato -- Quest Journal system tutorial and script (http://molegato.wordpress.com/2012/04/04/variable-quest-menu/)

Vlue -- Resolution trick to expand the game window (http://www.rpgmakervxace.net/topic/3894-basic-window-resizer/).