tumsterfest

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
Hi,

I'm new to RPG Maker MV (literally have not played an RPG Maker since the PS1 game). I downloaded all of these sweet free DLC resources to expand my options for character creation and BGM. While I can use the BGM just fine, I can't use any of the character stuff.

After 90 minutes of reading and watching tutorials and forum discussions, all I've really accomplished is moving all the assets into Project > img > characters ... but I still don't see anything when I open up the Character Generator. What's more, now even the standard files included in the game are missing when I open Character Generator.

I must have done something half-right, because when I open Resource Manager, all the DLC files I acquired are visible. I'm just not sure what step I'm missing.

Shaz

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Character generator images do not come from your project. The character generator is in the folder where MV itself is installed. If you are going to be adding resources to that, make sure you back up the folder first because it's very easy to get it wrong, and when you do, the whole thing is corrupted.

Other resources - tiles, windowskins, etc - go into your project > img > ... folders.

Quexp

Lifelong Learner
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I'll try to help if I can but a couple of things first:

1) What do you mean by "character stuff"? Are we talking just sprites or all of the generator parts (hair, clothes, accessories, etc.) too?
2) If your Character Generator is totally empty, that means the files got deleted from the main Program folder (...KADOKAWA > Generator).

Like Shaz mentioned, backing up stuff first is important. For now, it may be easiest to uninstall/reinstall RPG Maker and start fresh though. Here's a video that explains how to import stuff: