Questions about android/iOS

MushroomCake28

KAMO Studio
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
So I decided for my next project to go the pc and mobile route with MV. I never exported to mobile and never coded an app for mobile so I'm a complete beginner when it comes to that (I've coded in C# but not in java, and of course I can do javascript). I just have a couple of questions about Android deployment in general, coming from the perspective of a coder (since I plan on coding all the plugins in my project, I need to know how android works, and how RPG Maker MV behaves on android).

1. Is the game in portrait mode or landscape mode? And does it change with the phone orientation or not? Anyways to lock the game into landscape or portrait?

2. If the game is in portrait mode, how does it render the game canvas? Assuming that the game's aspect ratio is very different then the phone canvas (example: game is 1280x720, but the phone in portrait mode is 1080x1920).

3. What are the usual mobile resolutions? Especially the most popular aspect ratios.

4. Are there virtual input buttons, or is everything done through touch input?

5. Tap is confirm, and what's cancel on mobile? Two finger tap? (I know this one should be obvious, but I never really use my phone except for calling and messaging).

6. Are there any limitations on mobile that aren't there on PC?

7. I remember an issue with audio on mobile. Is it fixed? And what was it exactly?

8. Any thing I should keep in mind while coding my plugins for mobile?

That's all I can think of for now. If I'm missing something, please feel free to point it out. Thanks!

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
6. Are there any limitations on mobile that aren't there on PC?
7. I remember an issue with audio on mobile. Is it fixed? And what was it exactly?