Questions about art in a Commercial game

Discussion in 'Commercial Games Discussion' started by FallenStar27, Jun 10, 2019.

1. FallenStar27

FallenStar27 A dying star Member

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    It may seem like a silly question. I'm making my first game. I don't plan on selling it. But it's been on my mind because eventually I'd like to look into selling games once I have a better understanding of scripting and using game engines. What IS allowed to be used in a game?

To clarify if you use the grass tiles already provided in RPG maker MV is it not legal to sell the game? Should all the art be made from scratch? Is it the same with the in game sprites? What about music? I feel I have a slightly better understanding of music as I have some experience purchasing music rights for youtube. Normally it'll say in the clause if the product in question makes more than X amount of money you will owe a portion of it to the artist in question. It's just the art I'm not sure about.

Or is it mostly just frowned upon to use the art already provided? If you'd rather focus on making the game rather than designing your own art from scratch where is it recommended that one obtain said art?

Sorry about all the questions. I hope my question made sense.

2. Wavelength

Wavelength Pre-Merge Boot Moderator

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMVXA
    All RTP resources (resources that come with RPG Maker when you install/download it) are okay to use in your commercial games. That includes Graphics, Music, Plugins, etc. You cannot use those same resources in games made with other middleware (such as Unity), though you can use them in another version of RPG Maker as long as you own both versions.

Anything you buy from the official Store here will have its own terms inside the download, but almost all of them do allow you to use their contents in any RPG Maker game (with proper credit).