Silver Desert

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
I am an experienced developer that would like to get into some deep scripting in RPG Maker.  I am starting with XP so I will be working with Ruby script.  I am learning Ruby, and can get that knowledge elsewhere, but I am hoping someone could point be at a quick overview of how the scripting and interface work together, and an intro on how to debug complex scripts.

Thanks.

Shaz

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
There is a Learning Ruby and RGSSx forum here further down that might be a good starting point.

Eden_

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
Spannish
Primarily Uses
When I started learning Ruby (mainly focused on RPG Maker XP), I spent some hours looking Ruby libraries and getting used with the language before analysing the RPG code used for the games. Now, some years later, I reallised that it was not the best way. As far as I can expect from your description of your own programming skills, If you are used with Object-oriented programming code, such as, C++, and have plenty of hours of programming, Ruby won't be any challenge for you, in fact, is probably easier. Typing in Ruby is much more faster because lots of definitions are inherently included in the code, meaning that, on one side, you don't need to worry about them (the compiler knows too much!), on the other side, since you don't have all the controll, depending on how deep you need to go, you will probably have some troubles.