Randomizing Questions in Quiz-based Battle System

Discussion in 'RPG Maker MV' started by awanderingfox, Nov 9, 2018.

1. awanderingfox

awanderingfox Warper Member

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Hello friends!

I'm an English teacher and I'm trying to make a vocabulary game. I have no coding knowledge, so RMMV has been a great help. I am also thankful for all the tutorials and plugins the community has shared. It has made the process much easier for this dinosaur ^^.

I've created a storyline where NPCs introduce vocabulary, like in the picture below:
    [​IMG]

Then, the students are tested on the vocabulary in battles. Currently, I've been getting by with this arrangement:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Essentially, I write out every detail of the interaction, including the point where the enemy experiences a Knockout. I use labels and switches to make sure every question is answered correctly before the party emerges victorious.

I have two questions:
    1. Is there an easier way to manage this specific interaction? With the way I'm doing it, actors can't heal themselves or level.
    2. As the word list grows, I'd like battles to randomize words tested (eg. This battle tests Words A, J, and F). Is there a kind of database where I can just write all the words in?

I did attempt linking words to variables, but I don't know to assign the resulting choices and consequences to the same variable.

I hope my questions make sense. Thank you for your time, and for helping a beginner like me. It's my dream for the students to enjoy this and start making their own vocabulary games for themselves and their classmates to play (and practise storywriting while they're at it!).

Attached Files:

kamuipsyus likes this.
  2. RetroExcellent

RetroExcellent Pixelated Avatar of Chaos Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV