Klunky2

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
german
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hello i'm new to arrays in RPG-Maker MV.
I was trying the most basic things out, to see if arrays really work. Turns out, even that doesn't work.

Here is my code:

arrays.png
Shouldn't really pose a problem right? But it does.

When I try to show the value of variable 250 in a message box. It still says the value of the variable is "0"

Why?

ramza

Lunatic Coder
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Your third line should be $gameVariables.setValue(250, $gameVariables.value(212)[0]).

Otherwise, this should work fine when you make that adjustment.

caethyril

^_^
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
EN
Primarily Uses
RMMV
As Ramza said, this line of your code is the problem:
JavaScript:
$gameVariables.value(250)=$gameVariables.value(212)[0];
That's because the value method returns an object/value, not a reference to the original property of $gameVariables. :)

Put another way: let's say variable 250 is zero at the time of assignment. The code then reads "set 0 equal to the first entry in variable 212's array". The value 0 here is without context; you can't change the value of 0 like that (it's a constant!), so nothing happens. :kaophew:

Klunky2

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
german
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Thanks got it now, but unfortunelately, a whole now problems has opend up, so I will open up a new thread as well. D:

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Latest Threads

Latest Profile Posts

I'm sure this question's been asked before, but I can't find an answer: is there any way to run the Steam version of RPGMaker *without* being logged into Steam? It's a frustrating extra step sometimes.
Been seeing bright flashes in the sky for a while, and thought it was my eyes playing tricks on me. Nope! Lightning. Now it's raining heavily. Seeing lightning, but not hearing thunder, is weird.
Small Update for myself: