requirements to play a game from rpg maker mv?

Discussion in 'RPG Maker MV' started by jakr8911, Jul 18, 2019.

1. jakr8911

jakr8911 Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    english
    Primarily Uses:
    Other
    I want to send a game to someone via online, but first is there any requirement to play a game that develop with rpg maker mv? Like a third party app, You know like diretcX or vcredist that you get from steam, i know one of them is WebGL, but sre there any other things that I need to play a game from rpg maker? Just to be save you know

Last edited: Jul 19, 2019
  2. JtheDuelist

JtheDuelist Just a dev who actually got a game finished Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    @jakr8911 As far as I am aware of, no. I've gotten my RMMV games to run on my other computers apart from the source one, and it still works. Plus, I have never even heard of some of those until today.

3. Doktor_Q

Doktor_Q I'm not a real doktor, but I am a real Q Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    MV games are just in HTML 5, and should work on any browser version from the last ~5 years at least. You do need to use the deployment process to pack everything up, though.

fugahagen likes this.
  4. jakr8911

jakr8911 Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    english
    Primarily Uses:
    Other
    I dont want to play it on browser tho, so there is no need of any thrid party app if i want to play it like a regular video games?

5. flynnmichael81

flynnmichael81 Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    N/A
    The simple answer is no. Games made with MV should work on the machine you deployed it for. However, there are certain plugins which require the use of redistrubutables: these always make you aware of that though.

If this helps: when I distribute games through Steam, I include none if the optional redistributables.

6. jakr8911

jakr8911 Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    english