Not open for further replies.

vigokrell

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Hi guys,

Absolute noob to all of this stuff.  Just figured out how to up-rez the game to native resolution (1920x1080), and had no trouble scaling my battle sprites to much larger size (via gimp), and they look great.  But I can't for the life of me figure out how to scale the weapon sprites to match the attacks.  If I just rescale the weapons.png to the larger size like I did with the SV actor.png, doesn't work at all.

I searched the web for an hour buy couldn't find anything on it.  Forgive me if this is an idiotic question, I just got this program a few days ago, and it has quite a learning curve.  Is there any plugin or method to fix this problem so I can get larger weapons to scale with my larger battlers?

OKIComputer

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
So let me begin by saying I have no idea what I'm doing. I've been messing around with RPGMaker MV for about 2-3 weeks. But I had pretty much the exact problem you had, and did the googling, and that's how I found your post.

Big warning: this might have unforseen consequences, so make copies of your files or put comments in the script files accordingly so you can go in and edit them. Also, if you have no idea how to edit a javascript file in notepad, it is way beyond my abilities to explain it to you accurately. I'm still figuring this stuff out.

I don't think there's a good stand-alone plug-in to do this. However, if you have larger sprites, you can also upscale your animations by going into the javascript for the game and altering some values (height/width values, etc). I have battler sprites that are 125% the normal size (80x80 instead of 64x64), so I first (as a test) upsized the weapon animation spritesheets by 125%.

First, go into rpg_sprites.js and find this chunk of code:

Sprite_Weapon.prototype.updateFrame = function() {
    if (this._weaponImageId > 0) {