erpicci

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
Italian
Primarily Uses
Dear all,

I'm relatively new to Ruby and I came up with this question: should I use a functional style as often as possible? Or the other way around?

For instance, consider this piece of code (a function which skips spaces in front of a string). Which approach should I prefer, and why?

def functional_style(string) return string unless string[0] == " " return functional_style(string[1..string.size])enddef imperative_style(string) i = 0 while(string == " ") i += 1 end return string[i..string.size]endNote: Of course I understand that there are better way to do a stupid trim space, this is intended as toy example. I also deliberately didn't check wheter string is empty in the first place, because it is not relevant.

Thank you in advance!

Zeriab

Huggins!
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Other
Choose imperative or declarative style as you prefer. Whatever you think is the cleanest in your given situation.

Personally I think the negative effects of Ruby's duck typing affects the functional style more than the imperative style.

*hugs*

- Zeriab

Tsukihime

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
I generally avoid recursion unless the code would be much cleaner.

I tend to think recursion can be confusing compared to a loop.

TheoAllen

Self-proclaimed jack of all trades
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Indonesian
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
Pick the style as you want. But I think, the regular looping usually make your script more readable.

Zeriab

Huggins!
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Other
Oh, good point. Most scripters here are probably not used to seeing functional code, so take that into consideration should you want to write public code.

bgillisp

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
I would go with the functional style just because of this: