RMMV - Consume item per step on world map.

CG24324

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hey guys, pretty new to RPG Maker, but I've been finding it pretty intuitive and simple to do what I need.

I'm making a game in a similar vein to Oregon Trail, so a bit of sim-elements inside the RPGM engine. So far, I've been able to implement things pretty simply.

I'm planning on having a "food" item in the game, that depletes while traveling, and stays the same while in towns/interiors.
One thing that I'm a bit confused on how to accomplish is the food situation, and how to have the party consume it while traveling on the world map.

I think the best bet would be to have the party consume a set amount of food per-step on the map. And maybe, if possible, give the player the ability to specify the rate at which it's consumed.

Thing is, I'm not too sure on how to accomplish this. Any help would be appreciated. I'm still rather new to RPGM as well, so please explain things as simple as possible. I'm picking it up pretty fast, but I'm still a bit green.
Thanks!

Htlaets

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
There are a few ways, I'll just go for an easy one.

First, make a common event that loads the player's current region ID, X coordinate, Y coordinate, mapID etc. (you really only need X and y for this, but long term having all those helps) and call it regionid or something.

Next, at the start load those values up for the player's starting position and then have a separate pair of variables named something like "Old_X and Old_Y" load in the current player X and Y variables (make them equal to the player X and Y variables, not the game data. These will be your reference data to check against new data.

Next, make a parallel event. This parallel event will do the following in this particular order:
1. regionID common event we talked about