RMVXAce - Tip for Newbs determining fault in their events

Geekbydesign

Young Grasshopper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
I apologize as this isn't a problem, but I wasn't sure where to post this?  (First time poster)  I've read through other posts and haven't found this information available, so I thought I would share it.

I'm a newb myself, and was having issues using switches.  I was creating an event that caused an invisible barrier to appear around an area during a mini-game, so the player couldn't push any of the event items out of the mini-game area.  I was trying to have the barrier appear when the game was active, but disappear if the player wanted to quit the mini-game and return later.  The barrier should have returned once the mini-game was restarted.

The barrier would initially appear at the beginning of the mini-game, then disappear if the player wanted to leave.  For the life of me, I couldn't get the barrier to reappear once the game was reactivated.

I had a hard time visuallizing what event steps the barrier was going through and when, to understand where I was going wrong.  So, I visually "labelled" each of my conditional statements with different balloon icons.  Thus, as my event carried through, I could note what condition was occuring when, and see exactly what conditions were not being accessed by the game.

This is what my event ended up looking like:

Once I visually labelled my conditional statements, I noticed the last balloon icon that would appear when the player would chose the Restart option (which turned the Flower Barrier = off) was the exclamation (3rd page).  This told me that my Self Switch control on the 3rd page was incorrect.

I fiddled around and realized that I needed to turn Self Switch: B =OFF, instead of turning Self Switch: A =ON to have my event return to the 2nd page.