NikuKomaeda

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMXP
Hello! I've been messing around with RPG makers for a few years but i never made a complete project. I've settled with using RMXP and I have a few questions as there's a lot of things I cannot do there without scripting and info about this version is kinda scarce since people use VX instead ^^'

I am making a game that is basically a spin off of the Phantasy Star series (specifically PSIV) so i kinda wanted the battle system to be similar

Since I can't have number limited moves I was wondering if there's a way to put moves on a cooldown?
As in either disabling the move or deleting it for a few turns? I tried deleting it with a common event but it was still there next turn :(
I made it so the move called a common event that deleted it and set a timer for like 30 seconds, and on a conditional branch i'd have it so the move would be relearned once the timer was at 00 but the move just stayed there anyway.

I would also like to know if it's possible to show 5 party members in the menu and battles? I can take care of animations and the rest but I'd like to be able to have 5 party members visible at a time. If not i'll try to make it work with only 4.

I'm also a bit confused about the element resistances ;-;
I'd like to do something where healing items and skills don't affect Androids or Undead units and only certain items do. I made it a class but I'm not exactly sure how to make it work.

I can take care of the graphics and items, moves, stats and other stuff myself I just have a lot of trouble on the technical side of it ^^'
This is probably impossible without messing with the scripts but I don't really want to do something that might break my game. I hope there's still some solutions within the maker itself.

Thank you so much for taking your time to read this <3 If i posted this in the wrong thread I am very sorry I'm still new to the forums too.

Dev_With_Coffee

Veteran
Veteran