Audrei

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
Hey guys!

To start this off: I've been using the RPG Maker 2003 basically since 2003, but recently came to the conclusion, that VX Ace might open up more opportunities for me and RPG making in general. I was very hyped for this and decided I'd start this off by 'porting' one of my bigger 2003-games to VX Ace in order to break the limits of good, old 2003 and add more content to it while retaining the retro style it had back then.

...When I discovered that there are certain things that 2003 did even better than VX Ace.

First off: The 999 map limit. Now while I found many people online saying 'Why is this even an issue for you?' when people asked for solutions to this (not neccessarily on this forum, just online in general) instead of providing solutions, I found a solution pretty quickly and thus fixed this issue (yes, there are people creating games of epic proportions exceeding 999 maps, deal with it. Thanks to all of you, who can understand this <3).

Secondly: The problem I am stuck with right now. You remember those wall/ceiling tiles (I don't know what the general consense in naming these is, I'll call them wall-tiles from here on out) that 2003 had? Where you can walk one tile into them from above (character being hidden behind it, because it's z coordinate was above player level), but then get blocked from walking further inside it.

[IMG]https://picload.org/image/rdpcraop/ceilingtileq.png[/IMG]

Now I noticed that VX Ace doesn't have this function anymore, as you can mark autotiles only either passable O or non-passable X. Since I'm new to RGSS scripting, this is not something I could solve on the spot unfortunately, so I tried my best to find a means to work around this.

My approach was marking all wall-tiles as "damaging floor", since I won't be needing that flag in my game and then detect that and set passability in Game_Map accordingly.