RPG without battles or using battle system for creative or non-combat mechanics?

OscarSouth

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hello!

I'm still pretty new to RMMV -- have been feeling my way around the program and watching a lot of tutorials. Also picked up the beautiful PVGames 2.5D graphics which bring back much nostalgia of Ultima Online experiences many years ago!
I'm quite deeply involved through two sides of my career with music and programming (data science) and love storytelling, so I'm seeing working with this engine as a great way to combine all these things.

With this in mind, I'm much more interested in creating beautiful and immersive environments, endearing characters and memorable scores than a traditionally 'competitive' game -- the characters and plot would really serve as motivators to experience and move through the artwork at a suitable pace.

I've been thinking about how a game could be designed so that battles are either not used (in favour of another repetitive mechanic) or even using the battle system for something creative that isn't necessarily battling at all (for example a more deeply philosophical encounter with an NPC, where a greater depth of dialogue and experience can be designed).

Has anyone else got any thoughts on this, or even any examples where creators have used a similar approach to battling in their games?

Thanks!
Oscar

Trihan

Speedy Scripter
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
There's a "Magical Girl" type game I saw a topic about the other day where they use the battle system to question NPCs, gossip and gain clues. I thought that was pretty neat.

Last edited:

OscarSouth

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
There's a "Magical Girl" type game I saw a topic about the other day where they use the battle system to question NPCs, gossip and gain clues. I thought that was pretty neat.