Running C within Ruby on Ace

Discussion in 'Learning Ruby and RGSSx' started by Spoopy, Jan 12, 2017.

1. Spoopy

Spoopy Web Developer, PHP, NodeJS, RubyOnRails, Sass, HTM Veteran

First Language:
    English
    I'm still learning RPG Maker in my spare time, when I'm not busy with C++, OpenGL and SDL2. I was wondering if anyone has managed to run C within Ruby on Ace. The reason I ask is to try do some dirty hacks to run OpenGL or at least WebGL through Ruby on RM. It's only for experimental reasons. I've done it before with Javascript and even PHP for web applications. Does anyone here know if it is possible and if so, should a custom DLL be written to support it?

2. Zeriab

Zeriab Huggins! Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMXP
    The RGSSx based RPG Makers does unfortunately not support extension libraries, so you are pretty much left with tedious way of creating your own DLLs and communicating with them through either Win32API or DL. Note: DL is VX Ace only

I do hope you manage to create a OpenGL or Direct3D rendered view on top of the RGSSx player view and manage to keep it there with it being moved around and manage full screen/window mode toggles.

Please do let me know if you manage that. I would be very interested in your solution :D

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 12, 2017
  3. Spoopy

First Language:
    English