Script to compare coordinates between 2 events in MV

CreativeVulpine

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
◆Script:if ($gameVariables.value(5) && $gameVariables.value(6) === $gameVariables.value(8) && $gameVariables.value(9))
{
$gameSwitches.setValue(3,true);
}

I am trying to get the XY coordinates of one event to compare to another, and if they are true have my 3rd switch turn on.
So far when the events match coordinates in game nothing happens. They just continue on the current path.
I have some coding experience but the engined is still new to me.

Edit: The goal is to coral an animal event into a stable. When it collides with the other event it is to walk into the stable.
I have it all working from common events. I'll post pics when my capture app is working.

Last edited:

Shaz

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
What is the other event it's colliding with? Generally events won't go onto the same tile unless one of them is set to Through.

But if you just want to detect when it's on a particular tile on the map, or in a particular region, there's a better way.

Use a Region to paint the "trigger" tile, then use the following event commands (not scripts) to see when the animal moves into that position:

Code:
Control Variables [5] = Game Data > Character (animal)'s > Map X
Control Variables [6] = Game Data > Character (animal)'s > Map Y
Get Location Info (this is a command on tab 3) - set Variable [7] to the Region using variables 5 and 6 as coordinates
Conditional Branch: Variable [7] = <whatever region id you used for the stable>
  Control Switches [3] = ON
End
The script way to do it is (assuming you used region 25 and your animal is event 7):
Code:
$gameSwitches.setValue(3, $gameMap.event(7).regionId() === 25)

Engr. Adiktuzmiko

Chemical Engineer, Game Developer, Using BlinkBoy'
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Tagalog
Primarily Uses
RMVXA