Scripting Help?

Discussion in 'RPG Maker VX Ace' started by Tsuaja, Feb 4, 2016.

1. Tsuaja

Tsuaja Villager Member

First Language:
    English
    Okay, so I'm attempting to allow the player to choose an amount of items they wish to buy, with the amount stored into variable 16, and so this variable is supposed to set the price, multiplying the amount by the price, in this case, 10. Everything but this works, setting the price to the amount times 10, it just doesn't seem to do anything at all. I'm curious as to what I'm going wrong, because I'm new to Ruby scripting, so it's no surprise to me that I messed up, but I can't seem to figure out for the life of me what it is I did wrong; if anyone could help, that'd be amazing.[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Archeia

Archeia Level 99 Demi-fiend Staff Member Developer

First Language:
    Filipino
    Primarily Uses:
    VNM
    I've moved this thread to RGSSx Script Support. Please be sure to post your threads in the correct forum next time. Thank you.

3. bgillisp

bgillisp Global Moderators Global Mod

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMVXA
    The error is in how you use variable 17. You have variable 17 is times variable 16 times 10, but since variable 17 is 0 (unless you changed it), you are doing 0 * the amount you are buying * 10, which will always be 0.

What you want is variable 17 is set to variable 16 * 10 (it will show as == in the event if you do that right), not times variable 16 * 10.

@Archeia: There's actually no scripting in the event the OP posted. You sure you want this in Script support?

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016
  4. Tsuaja

Tsuaja Villager Member

First Language:
    English