CraneSoft

Filthy Degenerate
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
Good day. I recently started visiting here after starting my own personal project with VXAce which I have been working for a few months, learning the necessary when searching on the net for sources whenever possible. However, I had came to a standstill with several issues which I am never seem to be able to resolve.  ;_;  

An outline of my game:

1. A single actor exploration/battles game. Player will control only one actor for almost 99% of the game.

2. Battles are built around using pictures displayed with common events. Meaning, the sole actor's full body bustshot will be used on the right-side of the screen, and will perform several animations depending on actions taken, etc. There will be a huge amount of conditional branches for deciding on how to visually display the character, although the character itself will be just a picture, nothing more.

3. While I couldn't remember the source I was using a single actor menu configuration for my main menu which displays the standard stuff.

What I am trying to do (The issues!)

1. During a battle, I will need a picture to be displayed to visually present when the character is receiving an attack from any enemy (and taking damage) using a common event, I tried playing around with variables using HP values and such but the event simply isn't working. The primary issue here is getting the event itself to trigger which I couldn't seem to do, unless I go customize every single enemy attack to trigger that particular common event but I would rather use that as a last resort.
Question: How should I set up common events so that it triggers whenever my character is receiving an attack (if he could not dodge) from any enemy in battle?