Several tough problems

Discussion in 'RPG Maker VX Ace' started by Thordon123, Feb 8, 2018.

1. Thordon123

Thordon123 Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Hi guys, I'm new to the game and just started screwing around with it. I've been working towards fine-tuning my battle system and have come up against the sort of problems that googling doesn't seem to solve. I have three big problems at the moment that I just can't seem to fix, and I was hoping to get some help with them.

First: I need to flip the Battle Command HUD at the bottom of the screen to the top, so that I can free up room to position the battlers to not look like they are standing on air/water/trees whatever. Right now I'm using the Yanfly Engine and I can't figure out how to move it.

Second: I want to rename one class's "special" menu command (skill list) to "bark." I'm using Yanfly Battle Commands right now, which allow you to add new skills to the command menu, but not re-name them so far as I can tell.

Third, and the biggest by far: I need to create a very specific kind of skill, called Aimed Shot. The skill has to apply the state "Aim" to the actor, THEN the actor attacks while in the state, and THEN at the end of the turn the state is removed. The problem here is that if I put the add state effect in the Effects box, it applies the state AFTER the attack, and if I make the damage formula:

a.add_state(26); a.atk * 4 - b.def * 2

(26 is the Aim state)

Then what happens is that the state is only added if the attack hits. It's essential that the state be applied BEFORE the attack but I can't get that to work. I've also tried using common events to fix this but with no luck. I'm starting to think I'll need a custom script.

Thanks again everyone, if you have any questions I'll be watching the thread to answer!

2. TheoAllen

TheoAllen Self-proclaimed jack of all trades Veteran

First Language:
    Indonesian
    Primarily Uses:
    RMVXA
    First,