Should I put money into this non-commercial first time project?

Ragpuppy87

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
It seems like a stupid question. Ask me a month ago and I would have said no.

But now I find myself with $1,200 burning a hole in my pocket. And now I'm not so sure.
It's easy to say "no" when you don't have the money to spend.

I've been working steadily on my first RPG Maker project for (Wow , 2 years now?)
It's slowly evolved in that time from a personal endeavor in my spare time that was never meant to leave the confines of my computer, to a three person team project with a goal of creating a free to play game for the public to (hopefully) enjoy.
And in that time my passion for this project has only grown.

With my current team, I could create something I would be very proud of. I have no doubt of that. I have two wonderful artists on board each specializing in something unique. By all means I should pay them. But, they won't accept it.
Every enemy in my game is being custom drawn! You would think I would be content. "It's a first time project. You already lucked out by having these volunteers. Just settle down and be grateful for what you have!"
No I want that clear. I am very grateful. I truly am.

But what if... I could actually commission some of the talented people I see on these forums for something.
I'd love to have some custom music created! A professional playtester and debugger would truly be beneficial!
There are several things I could think of.

At the end of the day, when this project is finished, I want to say I threw everything at it. I did my absolute best.
There's a very strong chance that not one person will even play this game once it's finished. I realize that. I accept it. Every game designer takes that risk.

Would investing some money increase those odds however? To come out with the most polished and complete project I could come up with?