Should I sell my game when it uses mostly base assets, little custom coding, and no plugins?

theweirdnerd

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I've seen and read that RPGmaker games get really bad flak for being lazy asset flip kind of games. So much so that I seen RPGmaker being called an "Asset Flip generator". I've been working on a project for well over a year now (started in December of 2019). It uses mostly, if not entirely, the base assets that came with the engine. I've yet to learn any programming languages, I'm no artist, and yet, I've put my heart and my passion into this project. I've really tried to make the gameplay feel unique and the story and characters engaging, even though it was all done with the engines Event Editor.

I'm planning on selling the game for less than $5, maybe only a $1 on steam when it's finished because it uses 90% base assets. But hearing the reputation that RPGmaker games get, I've gotten to thinking, "Should I even bother and just move on to other things?"

I'm sure this counts as oversharing but it's something that's plagued my thought process since I picked RPGmaker MV up back in 2015. I'm sure other people starting out have thought similar things once in a while.

I'd love to hear anyone else's thoughts on this. Do you think having having base assets matter if the design the creator was going for shines through; or do you think a developer should pick up a coding manual and draw some art if they're going to sell a product that's worth something?

Milennin

"With a bang and a boom!"
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
If you think your game has enough value that it's worth asking money for, you should go for it. The worst that may happen is people not buying your game or leaving a bad review.

TheTitan99

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV